While looking for reasons why Augmented Reality has not become mainstream yet Gartner analyst Tuong Nguyen says: “There are just so many bad examples of it. … Let’s say I see an ad in a magazine and say, ‘Hey, this is AR-enabled’ and so I pull out my phone to point at the ad and something comes up, like an animation or a Web site. But I’ll say, “OK, that’s interesting, but I could have done it at home on my big screen and all you are offering me is the same thing on a smaller screen that costs me data use, so I’m not likely to do that again.”
Computerworld adds: “Carolina Milanesi, chief of research at Kantar WorldPanel Comtech, agreed that AR hasn’t been successful with consumers, partly because so many of the app experiences are “quite gimmicky” and not always easy to use. What’s needed is a way to make the AR experiences more relevant and engaging to users, she said. “AR is very hard to do well,” added Jack Gold, an analyst at J. Gold Associates. “Even small errors in AR cause major issues, and users perceive the lack of coordination or quality.””

