Estonia started issuing e-residencies: “E-residency is not a path to citizenship; it’s not legal residency. It cannot be used as a travel document or a picture ID. Instead, it’s a form of supranational digital identity issued, for the first time, by a country. It’s the online self, now with a government imprimatur.”
The first e-resident is Edward Lucas. “As Lucas sees it, the biggest benefit of Estonian e-residency is “having a digital signature valid anywhere in the EU, or in any other country which uses electronic authentication” … “I can identify myself and other people online,” he explained by email. “This is one of the biggest weaknesses of the internet. I do not know whether the people who send me e-mails are really those people, or just impersonating them (perhaps even cybercriminals who have broken into an e-mail account). Similarly it is hard for me to prove that I am me. Having a state-issued digital signature means that I can sign an e-mail (and if I wish encrypt it).””

